Jump to the main content                    

Secure Checkout

12 GA 3" MAG 1-1/2 oz. #5

Thumbnail Filmstrip of 12 GA 3" MAG 1-1/2 oz. #5 Images

    Purchase 12 GA 3" MAG 1-1/2 oz. #5

    12 GA 3" MAG 1-1/2 oz. #5

    SKU: 12-GA-3-112-5
    ★★★★★ ★★★★★ 4.98/5 Stars. (51 Reviews)

    From honkers to teal and everything in between, this 3” #5 is the Swiss Army knife of the BOSS lineup. 

    • 1-1/2 oz. payload, 1350 fps and a mammoth 285 pellets per shell 
    • Custom hull and hot primer for optimal cold weather performance 
    • Legendary BOSS Moneybag included with bulk packed cases 


    $39.00

    Quantity:

    Shipping Ammunition:

    Please note that ammo cannot ship to Alaska, Hawaii, NYC and Washington, DC.

     




    Gauge: 12 GA
    Length: 3"
    Payload: 1-1/2 oz
    Shot size: #5
    Velocity: 1350 fps

    Reviews

    ★★★★★ ★★★★★
    4.98/5 Stars out of 51 Reviews
    5
    50
    4
    1
    3
    0
    2
    0
    1
    0
    Pages 1   2   3   4   5
    Verified Buyer
    12 ga 3" 1 1/2 #5's
    Aaron Ambrose (Northeast NC) | February 10th, 2022
    These shells absolutely crush birds withing 40 yards. With 285 pellets, patterns at 30-40 yards are dense. If shooting open water or pass shots, move to 3's or 4's and the results are the same.
    Verified Buyer
    Hard to beat, from a hunter with 60 years experience.
    roy frischhertz (New Orleans, La.) | February 8th, 2022
    I had switched from standard steel shells to premium steel several years ago. Then I discovered BOSS. Yes, they cost a little more than premium steel but it's worth every penny of the difference! I found that shooting #3 steel was the only shot size to use for fairly clean harvests. However the steel still proved ineffective when the wind blew hard, you know, like when a front rolls through. This changed with BOSS #5's. I believe that the reason is that steel shot, being lighter and larger, was being scattered by strong winds. I wish someone could verify this. In any case, with the steel I was averaging 4 rounds per "dead" birds and with BOSS I'm now at a little less than 2. Does shooting even the lower cost steel actually cost less than BOSS? It's hard to prove to me! And not to mention the satisfaction of a good clean harvest shot.
    Verified Buyer
    Superior Shell
    John Thomas (Tupelo, Ms) | February 8th, 2022
    I’ve used a number of different BOSS 12ga shot sizes and shell lengths and they have all performed well. I like the 3” 5’s the most. They kill mallards dead and are more than enough on decoy range specks. You still have to be able to hit, they won’t make you a good shot if you aren’t one already, but they are a superior shell at a tolerable price. I shoot a browning A5 (new style) & a maxus 2, both with factory full chokes.
    Verified Buyer
    Boss 3 " #5
    Samuel MI Smith (NC) | February 8th, 2022
    Amazing performance impoundment hunting Hyde county. Knock down performance and kill rate much better than steel loads. I'm a believer!!
    Verified Buyer
    Boss 3” #5 12 Gauge
    Anthony | January 27th, 2022
    This was my first purchase of Boss Shells after hearing a solid review from a friend that shoots Boss 4’s and watching him fold ducks up. First things first, these shells are NASTY (ducks get hit hard). First day out they performed very, very well. I am impressed with the lethality of these loads and noticed a significant reduction in recoil compared to my 3 1/2” shells. Prior to hunting I went to the pattern board and was impressed as well. I chose my Rob Roberts T2 and T3 chokes at 40yds. This stuff puts down an impenetrable wall of bismuth night night pills… Seriously 285 pellets in one load is crazy and the pattern at 40yds was money! Looks like I am on the boss bandwagon now! Shipping was extremely quick as well. Great product. A++
    Verified Buyer
    Boss #5
    Bill Shell (Tn) | January 10th, 2022
    Took me a while to figure out best choke and shot size. . We hunt mallards in W Tn. Carlson Creamator LR choke with 3 in #5 kills them dead. Great shells. I’m sold.
    Verified Buyer
    The last shell I’ll ever buy
    Nicholas (CA) | January 6th, 2022
    I am definitely an ammo nerd, I have bought and tested just about everything on the market from Winchester SX to Hevi-Metal’s entire lineup and everything in between. The 3” #5 from boss put an end to my search. Buy the shot size that makes you feel comfortable for what you are hunting but this stuff was clean killing thick January Cans, Sprig, Mallards and Wigeon last weekend at 30-40 yards. We’re talking about lights out barrel roles. I’m too young to have shot lead at ducks but my friend’s dad agreed that this was doing the job in a similar manner.
    Verified Buyer
    Excellent shells
    Russ Duck (Tennessee) | December 31st, 2021
    Favorite shell I've used in 26 years duck hunting. Great pattern density and extremely hard hitting. I've noticed a significant difference in bringing birds down cleanly in only 4-5 hunts.
    Verified Buyer
    Great Product
    Pat W (Annville, PA) | December 30th, 2021
    I ordered 12 GA 3" MAG 1-1/2 OZ. #5 for ducks and they work flawlessly. I have ordered and used #3 and #3/5 in the same size for geese with similar results. I couldn't be happier. Shipping is fast, communication is great from this company.
    Verified Buyer
    Hard Hitting, Bone Breaking Power
    Jeff Matz (NW WI) | December 28th, 2021
    Bought a case of #5's 3" for a late season SD pheasant hunt because they became available. Compared a couple mature roosters that were shot at similar distances and angles with the BOSS #5 and Prairie Storm #6 -1550 fps. The BOSS load broke bones and tore through the bird with a lot of damage, no pellets were left in bird. The PS load had several pellets in bird with feathers driven in, but no major damage. Both birds fell dead, so end result was acceptable. The BOSS shells are definitely bone breaking killers. Will be buying more when stock is available.
    Write Review:
    12 GA 3" MAG 1-1/2 oz. #5
    • Click/Tap a star to rate. 5 stars is the best.
    • All fields are required except "where you're from".
    • Your email is for verification purposes only and will NOT be published or shared. See our Privacy Policy.

    Thank you for your review!

    Enter only the red text:  3Ry1431457Arq!